Running in Paris

So this isn’t about packing lunch but it certainly goes hand in hand with healthy living.

Running in Paris, it just does not get boring! I mean, I run the same route 3-4 days a week and I am continuously amazed by the beauty of the things around me!

Quai des Celestins

I initially started running as an answer to expensive gyms and group exercise classes in central Paris. Like in all cosmopolitan cities, Paris gym memberships and yoga classes are for budgets much bigger than my own.

Notre Dame

When I began running, I felt like a 20-minute run lasted an eternity, but over time my endurance has progressively increased.

Most significantly, the aspect of running that has kept me coming back is the feeling of achievement that comes with the end of the run. Oh, and did I mention the beautiful monuments and views that abound!

Ile St Louis

I never thought in a million years that I could be an early morning runner, I LOVE my bed in the morning time. Yet here I am posting these beautiful photos of Paris before sunrise (or shortly thereafter).

Pont Marie

Paris is delightful at this time of day (or should I say night) because the streets, and most importantly the sidewalks, are empty! I’m talking no one around at all, which eliminates a few items from this hilarious list of thoughts runners have while running I found onBuzzFeed!

What an unexpected source of joy it’s been for me to not have to concern myself with sharing the space. You don’t find yourself having to zigzag among annoyed pedestrians, looking at you as if you were significantly deteriorating their sidewalk experience. You don’t get overwhelmingly frustrated at the folks who walk three abreast or those who seem to be weaving under the influence of alcohol, even though they are totally sober.

IMG_4204

I never thought I could be a runner, but sometimes you just start getting out there half-heartedly and it happens with you barely noticing.

5 responses to “Running in Paris

    • Hi Erin,
      You can definitely run in Paris, the question is just where you will be staying. Depending on your location, you can run along the river or in one of the many parks in Paris (Jardin du Luxembourg (6th arrondissement), Jardin des Plantes (5th), Parc Monceau (17th), Le Parc des Buttes Chaumont (19th)). Check out a map of Paris or let me know where you’re staying to figure out the best and prettiest routes for you!
      Is it your first time over in Paris? Hope you have a fantastic time!

  1. Looks like you are running in a gorgeous place! I love your blog by the way, Chloe! I adore running and cooking, so we will be fast friends. (besides we have the same name…so what could go wrong????) 🙂 ♥

    • Hi Kloe,
      Thanks for stopping by! I am indeed very lucky to be able to run somewhere that is so incredibly picturesque! I’m looking forward to taking a closer look at your blog! Looks like great inspiration 🙂
      And it’s very fun indeed to meet someone with the same name..doesn’t happen all that often!
      Take care, Chloé

Leave a Reply

