Avocados & Keeping Packed Lunches Interesting

I’ve got to say it – avocados are EXPENSIVE!

And I’m a little tired of seeing them pop up all over the place in dressings or in brownies, as if they were a cheap add-in or substitute ingredient.  Avocados are relatively expensive and, in my personal opinion, should be held in high regard and viewed as a special treat in any meal. A fancy, exciting item that will really make a salad or a sandwich stand out.

Avocado

Most people probably can’t afford to eat avocados the way most blogs seem to use them in recipes — don’t get me wrong, I’m not hating on all the ingenious ideas that recipe bloggers come up with, I just don’t think that it’s very realistic to expect readers to always have them on hand. Like I said their expense alone makes them a prized ingredient in anything I make.

Beating the monotony of daily packed lunches

Packing lunch can get pretty monotonous, let’s face it. It takes commitment and motivation to fill those little plastic containers or Ziplocs containing your salad or sandwich day after day!

To encourage myself and as a reward for taking the time to pack my lunch, I try really hard to find add-ins that will feel like a special treat.

Avocados definitely fall into that category…but there are all sorts of foods that can make the daily lunch grind more fun. If you have access to them, try fresh herbs! Mixing coriander, basil or parsley into a dressing or tossing it straight into a salad instantly adds a strong, vibrant flavor. A handful of seeds or nuts (sunflower, pumpkin, sesame, walnuts, toasted hazelnuts, cashews, etc.)  has a similar effect! The list goes on and exciting foods probably vary from person to person according to taste, but as a non-vegan, I have to say that cheeses also really make things exciting..think roquefort, comté, fresh cubed mozzarella (not the grated kind!).

Packed Salad

Take a basic mixed veggie salad up a notch by adding cubed avocado, a spoonful of goat’s cheese, a sprinkling of sunflower seeds and a hard-boiled egg for a shot of protein.

Once you find out which foods make you especially happy, adding them to your packed lunch will really give you something to look forward to…and let’s face it, there are some days when you really need something good in the midst of a hectic workday.

And for days when you don’t have to pack a lunch, you can really go crazy with this super fun breakfast or lunch. A few weekends ago, I had a bit of an obsessive moment with Two Peas and their Pod‘s wonderful Avocado, Hummus and Egg Toast.

This toast made me so happy that I made it for dinner one night and again for breakfast the very next morning. What can I say, sometimes a girl’s gotta splurge, expensive avocado and all!

Hummus, Avocado and Egg Toast

It feels a bit silly to write out a recipe for this toast. It mostly just entails spreading things on bread and making a fried egg, but nonetheless, here it is!

Avocado, Hummus and Egg Toast

Serves 1

What you’ll need:

  • half a ripe avocado
  • 2 heaped tablespoons hummus (quantity here is really best determined by you)
  • slice of toasted bread
  • one egg (fried, sunny side up or over easy)
  • salt and freshly cracked black pepper

How to:

  1. Crush the avocado with a fork in a medium-sized bowl. Add the salt and pepper and mix.
  2. In a lightly oiled skillet on medium-high heat, crack your egg. Cook it to your liking.
  3. Spread the hummus generously on your toasted bread.
  4. Add a layer of crushed avocado.
  5. Place the egg on top and enjoy.

Recipe from Two Peas and their Pod

What kinds of things do you add to your salad or sandwich to kick things up a notch? I’m always on the lookout for new ideas!

4 responses to “Avocados & Keeping Packed Lunches Interesting

  1. I love this kind of food, simplicity is key and for breakfast you often want simple flavours! I’ve been doing a similar thing but sprinkling with my homemade dukkah….I’ll put up post soon. Great ideas on your blog! Lunch should never be boring.

    • Hi Katie,
      Thanks for dropping by! I keep seeing Dukkah pop up, but I’m still not really sure what it consists of. Looking forward to your blog post on the subjet.
      Take care,
      Chloé

  2. I love avocados and would be so happy if my lunch box had them in it! My sister has an avocado tree and sometimes she gives me some – she lives 8 hours away so I’m not always there at the right time to get them. I like how you put hummus and avocados together as well as an egg. It sounds yummy! My daughter was putting salads in a mason jar for her lunches recently, and they looked so pretty. I think sometimes presentation helps a lot.

    • That is so true, presentation has something to do with it, as does flavor combinations. I find that you need to stay creative about finding those ingredients that will make you truly excited about your lunch! Otherwise, it’s true that it’s easy to get stuck in a rut, building the same salad every day. I think the key is really to mix it up..I try to do that with cheeses (parmesan, feta) and toasted sesame or pumpkin seeds. Dressings also make a huge difference, for example, an Asian-inspired one with soy sauce and sesame oil or a home-made Italian dressing with oregano. They’re the things that keep me packing my lunch..the little extras!

Leave a Reply

