Garlicky Crab and Pea Linguine

It feels like my life is on the verge of a big change. If I’m honest with myself, I haven’t really pushed myself these past two years. I haven’t challenged myself and have been lulled into settling by the promise of a steady pay check. I have worked two jobs I found completely uninteresting , not to mention uninspiring.
Luckily for me I have had my main man by my side this whole time, a shoulder to cry on when I felt powerless against the crushing limitations of the French employment market (and I felt powerless A LOT and cry really easily). He listened to me complain about my situation over and over again without ever pointing out the obvious: that I was being completely complacent and was proactively seeking change.

Well maybe that’s not completely true. I have done some things in the past 6 months that were fairly proactive.

I trained for and ran a 10k. I took an evening class and a distance-learning class. I handed in an assignment for one on Monday, and took the exam for the other yesterday. Oh, and I started this awesome blog! And probably most importantly I applied and interviewed for a new job that might take me away from Paris to a new city. So it’s not like I haven’t done anything.

10k race

Looking a bit gross, but happy, after my 51’35” 10K.

I guess this post is probably more emotionally charged than the others, but I was inspired by the beautiful and soul-baring posts over at rachel eats.

Not only does my man encourage me when my mood is in the dumps, he also makes me dinner almost every night. He likes to be in the kitchen much more than I do and I really hope one day we will have a kitchen that will do his cooking justice. Just the other night he made me a delicious crab linguine, which I, of course, immediately posted to Twitter and Instagram in my daunting quest to improve the traffic to this blog. My sister who is starting a Third Culture Kid Dating website and thus constantly trolling Twitter, immediately asked for the recipe, and my man, being the helpful guy he is, obliged. So now Olivia’s happy because she has the recipe and you can all be happy too because here it is below, with his permission bien sûr.

crab pasta crab pasta1

Garlicky Crab and Pea Linguine

Makes 2 servings/lunches

What you’ll need:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 2-3 gloves garlic, minced
  • 1 birdseye chilli (remove seeds if desired)
  • Around 120-150g crab meat (you don’t need to buy the super expensive stuff, but be wary of cheap crab meat. Look for cans that say ‘No cartiledge’ or ‘Pincers’)
  • Handful linguine pasta
  • Handful flat leaf parsely
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 5 or 6 sundried tomatoes, roughly chopped
  • 1 tbsp tomato puree
  • 1 cup garden peas (defrosted if using frozen)
  • parmesan
  • rocket

How to:

  1. Bring a large pot of water to the boil and add a pinch of salt. Dunk in your pasta, bending if necessary to get it all in ASAP (to ensure even cooking). Linguine usually cooks in 7-8 minutes but check the packet.
  2. Meanwhile, heat the olive oil in a large pan or skillet over a medium-high heat. Toss in the onion and fry gently until pale. Add the peas and sundried tomatoes and stir.
  3. Make a space in the middle of the pan and add a touch more oil. Add the garlic and chili to the oil and cook for a minute until fragrant. Stir.
  4. Add the crab meat, lemon juice and parsley and stir until all the ingredients are heated through. Season to taste with salt and plenty of ground black pepper.
  5. When the pasta is al dente, drain and return to the pot. Add a portion of the sauce to the pasta and return to the heat – start stirring immediately or the pasta will burn to the bottom of the pot. Add more sauce and stir until combined. (Adding the sauce this way helps the pasta to absorb flavour and give the whole dish a better texture)
  6. Serve with a sprig of parsley for garnish, freshly grated parmesan and a little rocket on the side. Garlic bread and wine never hurts either 😉

 

7 responses to “Garlicky Crab and Pea Linguine

    • Yeah, it is delicious! You’re super lucky to be able to use fresh crab over in SF. We had to do with canned, but it was still super delicious.

  1. Congrats! I am impressed by your willpower! This recipe sounds absolutely delicious and you truly deserve the best you can get after so much efforts! 🙂

    • Thank you very much for the kind words! I’m really excited to get started on this next part of my life, even if it might mean leaving Paris!
      I really love your blog and your beautiful photography, and am honored to have you stop by 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tomato, Onion and Caper Salad | i heart boxes·

  3. This looks so dang good! Gonna have to make it soon 🙂 and good luck with the job stuff – I can really relate to all of the uncertainty.

    • Hi Allie,
      It is definitely worth making, especially considering the wow factor you will get from such an easy recipe!
      Thanks for your kind words about the job stuff. Lucky for me, I think things are starting to come together!
      x

Leave a Reply

