Tomato, Onion and Caper Salad

Tomato, Onion and Caper Salad

This past Friday, something very unusual happened. I found myself at home alone with no dinner plans. France was playing Switzerland in their second match of the FIFA World Cup, so I had somewhere to be later on that evening, but I had a small amount of time in which I had nowhere to be and nothing to do. That hadn’t happened in quite some time so it felt like a little surprise gift and I really appreciated it.

Rummaging through the fridge

Since, I was going to watch the game with some friends and have some drinks, I wanted to make sure I ate dinner. I knew I had a tomato left over and I liked the idea of making some kind of tomato salad, so I looked through the fridge and found half a left over onion and some fresh flat-leaf parsley (no doubt left over from the Garlicky Crab Linguine we had made the other day). Being a big fan of smoked salmon and capers, I’m also never without a jar of capers. I figured that those things tossed together along with a fried egg would do me nicely for a solo dinner.

Solo dinner

Living with a boy

Completely unexpectedly, super simple basic ingredients turned into one of the best salads I’ve eaten in a long time. Now, I understand it may be a touch odd to get so overly excited about a tomato salad, but here’s the thing, I live with an Irish man who would be fairly happy eating meat and potatoes every night. He’s the one who does most of the cooking in our home and he’s been really accommodating about my request to have a vegetable included in each of our meals. Since he cooks a lot, it’s quite rare for me to have to be responsible for a full meal all on my own. Though I have a very healthy appetite, I also have days when I’m happy with very simple things, while boys just seem to have big appetites all the time. All in all though, I got very lucky. I thought living with a boy would be hard, turns out living with my boy is the best thing that’s ever happened to me!

Tomato, Onion and Caper Salad

Tomato, Onion and Caper Salad

Makes 1 serving

This salad barely deserves a recipe, it’s so simple. It was just a really great combination of things that resulted in a wonderfully fresh and sweet summer flavor. You could easily bulk it up a bit if you wanted to, for example with a hard-boiled egg and some roquette (arugula) or baby spinach leaves. Grated Parmesan would probably also be fun, if you want a little extra saltiness.

What you’ll need:

  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 large tomato
  • 1-1 1/2 tablespoon capers
  • handful flat leaf parsely
  • half a lime or lemon, juiced
  • salt and cracked black pepper
  • olive oil

How to:

  1. Mix the chopped tomatoes, onions, capers and parsley in a bowl.
  2. Pour the lemon or lime juice over the mix, as well as a healthy pour of olive oil. Season with salt and freshly cracked black pepper.

What are some of the simple salads you’ve come up with accidentally?

 

Leave a Reply

