The Delightful Aperol Spritz

Aperol Spritz

Long-distance apartment hunting

I am in the midst of a long-distance apartment hunt and it is not the easiest thing I’ve ever been involved in. After 6 years in Paris, I am moving to Northern Ireland. I am still working at my current job so I can’t be in Belfast to figure out all the logistics. Don’t get me wrong, I’m ecstatic to be in Paris for the month of July. I LOVE Paris (even) in the warm weather unseasonably cold and rainy weather we’ve been having! It can just feel overwhelming to plan a move from so far away.

Pont des Arts - Louvre

Luckily for me, I just so happen to have some people on the ground in Belfast who are being a HUGE help with the apartment hunt! Phew!

I also have to buy a car and figure out this whole driving on the “wrong” side of the road thing. I have to pack up my apartment. I have to open a bank account. Needless to say, at the end of the day, I really appreciate a little something that will take the edge off.

Cocktail favoritism

I fall in love with a new drink probably every year and a half. The one exception may be the glorious extra dry Bombay Sapphire gin martini which I was so enamored with for several years that I could barely even conceive of another cocktail being anywhere near as perfectly icy and bracing. It remains a definite staple cocktail in my rotation to this day!

However, the summer time and the beautifully long days that grace Paris during this time of year require something a little less debilitating and in a slightly longer/taller glass over ice. Lucky for me, my excellent friend Taylor went to Venice a while back and came back with the finest summer-time leisure concoction I have yet to discover: the Aperol Spritz.

Aperol

Now I’ve been to Venice once, but I was younger and with my parents and really wasn’t paying close attention to the aperitivo culture of the city. Lucky for me, Taylor’s visit proved much more rewarding in that department and she returned home bearing a large bottle of the namesake ingredient in the Aperol Spritz.

Now as I understand it, this drink is originally made with prosecco, a sparkling Italian white wine; however in our house, we’re more likely to have a carton of white wine in the fridge, so that’s what we use.

Aperol SpritzGarnishes are a pain in the butt

I know, I know, garnishes can be annoying. You never seem to have the right piece of fruit or the right jar of pickled or brined add-in in the fridge when you need them.  I promise you though that leaving out the orange slice would be a HUGE mistake! It is soooooo worth it!

Aperol Spritz

Makes 1

What you need:

  • 50ml Aperol
  • 75 ml white wine (or prosecco)
  • generous splash soda water
  • Handful ice cubes
  • Slice of orange

How to:

  1. Pour the Aperol and the white wine over the ice in a large wine glass or a tumbler. Stir briefly.
  2. Top with the soda water and garnish with the orange.

 

4 responses to “The Delightful Aperol Spritz

  1. In Venice, they sometimes garnish with a green olive as well as an orange! It sounds weird, but it’s really good.

    • Yeah, it was definitely love at first taste for me too! There is something really special about the slightly bitter taste of the drink! Thanks for stopping by, Bri!

Leave a Reply

